The Birth Of A Superstition

Several readers have brought it to my attention that I’ve been a bit lax on my postings lately. Well, I assure you there’s a very good reason for it: It’s been better luck for the Cardinals when I stay off the web-waves.

It all started back at the end of the regular season when we were taking it to the wire to determine whether or not we’d continue our trek into the post-season. We were just one game away from a Division Series berth and it would only take a Cardinal victory or an Astro loss to seal the deal. That Saturday we had beaten the Brewers and had the Braves beaten the Astros it would have been, "Post-Season Here We Come!" But, the ‘Stros won, thus keeping their dreams alive and us dangling on a string.

That night I had an inspired idea for a blog. I was going to play on that famous quote by Pedro Cerrano in ‘Major League’ in which he admonishes Jobu for not rewarding his subservient efforts with the ability to hit a curve ball. You remember it: Pedro’s at the plate late in the biggest game of the season and he had just swung mightily and missed yet another bender. He then turned from the batter’s box, bat in hand and stalked toward the on-deck circle out of everyone else’s earshot and says (after a few words in his own defense): "So I say, ‘F*ck you, Jobu. I do it myself." At which point he digs back in at the plate and proceeds to hit a monster homerun ala The Natural.

Well, that’s how I felt about the position we were in going into that fateful Sunday game at the end of our regular season. I was tired of begging the Braves to be our saviors and for wishing ill-will against Houston. I just thought, enough’s enough. Let’s go out there and get it done ourselves. You know, be the masters of our destiny.

Despite all my attempts to get to the computer and get the words down, I just never got the piece written. I had tried on Saturday night and even Sunday morning before the game, but I never quite made it (though the first few paragraphs remain archived in my drafts).

Then came that final game. And, though I was riding high on my notion of "If you want it done right, do it yourself," the Cardinals floundered. Luckily, at about that same time, the Astros were also floundering and they ended up losing to the Braves thus sneaking our Beloved Birds into the post-season via the servant’s entrance out back.

However, the seed had been planted. My boastful musings that nearly made their public appearance as an entry on this site were surely the jinx that kept us from winning the right to play in October forthright. And suddenly I was thankful that I had never actually posted the piece. I mean, as it was, the Cards lost but, then, so did Houston. Imagine what might have happened had the piece been published! I can only suspect that, just to serve me right, the Astros would have won that game and then… Oh, I don’t want to even think about it. It makes me sick to my stomach to even surmise at how close I was to ruining everything for everyone. In fact, let’s get off the subject.

Anyway, a precident had been born. I needed to not write until there was a clean slate. Unfortunately, those opportunities have been few and far between, but the system seems to be working.

I’ll probably drop a few notes regarding the World Series up to this point now that we are into an off day and everything is free and clear. However, I’ll probably go back under the radar after that. After all, who am I to mess with the system?

Leave a Reply

